Kidlit These Days logo.png
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Blogger Icon
Site Design and Illustrations by Lorian Tu-Dean (c) 2016

Jin Xiaojing (The Children's Book Podcast #558)

December 27, 2019

 

Jin Xiaojing shares I MISS MY GRANDPA. This stunning picture book examines remembering a lost loved one through the memories and characteristics of other family members. It is without doubt a book that will stop you in your tracks, without question one of the most stunning and memorable picture books I read this year. This is our last interview episode of the year, and it’s one I hope that will carry you into the new year with the promise and hope and wonder of all that children’s publishing has to offer.

 

Thank you to this week's sponsors:

 

Highlights Foundation

Storyteller Academy

Libro.fm

 

And to the generous support from our Patrons.

 

  

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

For fans of Ed Young and Peter Sis, this breathtaking picture book, from LBYR's first Emerging Artist Award Winner, Jin Xiaojing, is the perfect read for anyone who has lost a loved one.

 

A young girl has never met her grandpa. He passed away before she was born, but she misses him every day. She often wonders...what did he look like?

 

Grandma says: His face was shaped like the moon, his mouth was good at telling stories, and his hair was as curly as a bird's nest.

 

With the help of her grandma and the rest of her loving family, will this young girl be able to imagine her grandpa's face in her mind--and feel the love that he shared with others?

 

 

 

SHOW NOTES:

 

SHOUT OUT TO OUR PATRONS!

 

Thank you, Traci, Halle, Chris, Amy, Sommer, Sara, Kate, Darshana, Patricia, Amanda, Theo, Jarrett, Justin, Anitra, Sailaja, Hayley, Susanne, Mike, Steve, Mia, Corrina, Adrienne, Irene, Kate, Ed, Jenny Sue, Cynthia, Sylvie, Doug, Amanda, Judi, Ruth, Elaine, Teresa, Alicia, and others who are coming with me on this journey. You’re welcome to join us. Just visit Patreon.com/matthewcwinner and pick the support tier that’s right for you. All the hugs and high fives for all of the many, many ways all of out there listening support this show.

Tags:

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

Master List of Kidlit Podcasts

June 9, 2018

1/4
Please reload

Recent Posts

January 9, 2020

Please reload

Archive